The Nib Looks at New Yorker Cartoons in 2040; Of Interest: Cartoon Companion’s Frank Cotham Interview, Part 2

The Nib Looks at New Yorker cartoons  in 2040

 

 

 

Here’s an amusing piece from The Nib, August 8, 2017,  “New Yorker 2040” — too bad the author didn’t try imagining various cartoonists styles 23 years from now instead of just using one vaguely  1950s – early 1960s similar style…or is that what’s in store?  Bonus: the zillionth take-off on Steinberg’s iconic New Yorker cover. ________________________________________________________________________________

Cartoon Companion’s Frank Cotham Interview, Part 2

Cartoon Companion has posted the second half of its interview with veteran New Yorker cartoonist, Frank Cotham (shown to the left wearing the pointed party hat; this is a cropped screen grab from the Arnold Newman group photo that appeared in the very first Cartoon Issue of The New Yorker, Dec. 15, 1997). To the left of him is Dean Vietor, to the right of Mr. Cotham is Mick Stevens in his customary top hat. That’s Lee Lorenz, lower left, joyously tossing confetti in the air, and Mike Twohy, lower right, tentatively tossing confetti).

Read Part 2 of the CC’s Cotham interview here.

Books of Interest Round-Up: Twohy, Toro, Cuneo, Wheeler, Blitt, Karasik, and Chast

It’s mid-year, which is as good a time as any to round-up the New Yorker cartoonist-related books that’ve come out recently and those that will be coming out.

Mouse and Hippo by Mike Twohy. From the publisher:

“Mouse creates a painting for his new friend Hippo—and Hippo returns the kindness in an unlikely way—in this delightful story…”

 

Tiny Hands by Tom Toro. From the publisher: “These cartoons were originally showcased on The New Yorker’s website when Toro was the featured as the Daily Cartoonist.”  Published May 2017. Publisher’s website.

Not Waving But Drawing by John Cuneo. From the publisher: “…Cuneo’s best privately drawn sketchbook pages, each page immediately introduces us to unique takes on sex and domestic life in his signature squiggly style. Not Waving But Drawing is full of dark thoughts, lightly rendered.”  Published February 2017 Publisher’s website.

 

Sh*t My President Says by Shannon Wheeler.  From the publisher: “…illustrations of the often outrageous and inflammatory words from the current leader of the free world, all while using a pretty adorable version of Donald Trump.” Coming in August 2017.  Publisher’s website.

 

Blitt by Barry Blitt.  From the publisher: “…This…full-color collection showcases over a quarter century of Blitt’s most iconic work: his New Yorker covers, from the infamous Obama fist bump and George W. Bush’s drowning cabinet to the many misadventures of Donald Trump; his long-running collaboration with Frank Rich for New York Times.”  Coming in October 2017. Publisher’s website.

 

How To Read Nancy by Paul Karasik and Mark Newgarden.  From the publisher: “Everything that you need to know about reading, making, and understanding comics can be found in a single Nancy strip by Ernie Bushmiller from August 8, 1959. Paul Karasik and Mark Newgarden’s groundbreaking work How to Read Nancy ingeniously isolates the separate building blocks of the language of comics through the deconstruction of a single strip.” Coming in October 2017. Publisher’s website.

Going Into Town by Roz Chast. From the publisher: “…part playful guide, part New York stories, and part love letter to the city, told through Chast’s laugh-out-loud, touching, and true cartoons.” Coming in October 2017. Publisher’s website.

 

Of Interest: Twohy’s New Book; Zach Kanin’s Sitcom

Mike Twohy‘s latest kids book is out — here’s a very nice review.

Mr. Twohy has been contributing his cartoons to The New Yorker since 1980. See his work here on the magazine’s Cartoon Bank site.

Here’s one of my favorite Twohy drawings (published in The New Yorker in 1995):

 

__________________________________________________

And speaking of nice reviews, here’s The New York Times weighing in on Detroiters,  a brand new sitcom (it airs on the Comedy Central channel) co-written by our colleague, Zach Kanin. He began contributing his cartoons to the magazine in 2005.

Here’s Mr. Kanin’s New Yorker work on the Cartoon Bank site.

And here’s a favorite Kanin New Yorker drawing (published in the magazine in 2016):

 

 

 

Newest Addition to Ink Spill’s Library: Comically Correct

comically-correct-new-yorker

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Courtesy of Danny Shanahan, this promotional booklet (offered with new New Yorker subscriptions?) from 1995 has been added to Ink Spill‘s Library. Of the many promo booklets produced by The New Yorker I’d never seen this one until today. Shown are the cover, the introductory page and the list of cartoonists whose work is within (yes, Bruce Eric Kaplan’s middle name is spelled wrong).

intro-comically-correct-edtcartoonists-comically-correct

A Lee Lorenz Two-fer Cover; More Spills with Liza Donnelly, Jack Ziegler & Mike Twohy

LL

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s a twenty-eight year old cover from the great Lee Lorenz that manages to celebrate both Valentine’s Day and Presidents Day.

 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

More Spills Icon Edited

 

 

-1

…Liza Donnelly will be Live-Drawing the Grammys tonight. Follow the fun on Twitter: @lizadonnelly

Link here to see Ms. Donnelly’s New Yorker work on the magazine’s Cartoon Bank site.

 

 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

tny-radio-logo…In this segment from The New Yorker Radio Hour, the one-and-only  Jack Ziegler discusses a work in progress.

 

 

 

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

TwohyNew Yorker contributor Mike Twohy’s kids book comes out tomorrow.  Oops, Pounce, Quick, Run! An Alphabet Caper is published by Balzer + Bray

From the publisher:

In the vein of Tom and Jerry, Bugs Bunny, and other classic cartoons, Oops, Pounce, Quick, Run! is a hilariously clever alphabet caper, perfect for fans of LMNO Peas and Z Is for Moose.

 

Twohy, Eckstein & Diffee among National Cartoonist Society Nominees

ncs_chromeThe National Cartoonists Society has just announced its  2013 Divisional Nominees.  Among the categories are Editorial Cartoons, Newspaper Illustration, Feature Animation, Comic Books, and Graphic Novels. In the Magazine Gag Cartoon category, three New Yorker cartoonists fill the slate: Bob Eckstein, Matt Diffee, and long time New Yorker contributor, Mike Twohy. Bob Eckstein is also nominated in the Newspaper Illustration category. Like Mr. Eckstein, Mike Twohy is a double nominee, with his work nominated in the Online-Short Form category. See all the categories and nominees here.

The winners will be announced May 24th at the Reuben Awards dinner in San Diego.

 

You can see much of Eckstein’s, Diffee’s and Twohy’s New Yorker work at the magazine’s Cartoon Bank.

Websites:

Bob Eckstein

Matt Diffee

Mike Twohy