Cartoon Marriage

Coming in April 2016 from Regan Arts

Peter Arno: The Mad Mad World of The New Yorker’s Greatest Cartoonist

Cartoon Marriage: Adventures in Love and Matrimony by The New Yorker’s Cartooning Couple. (Random House, 2009)

About Cartoon Marriage:

Since the release of the book the most asked question has been: “Where did the idea for this book come from?”

A two-part answer: Liza and I have long been interested in New Yorker history (she wrote a book about The New Yorker’s women cartoonists called Funny Ladies; The New Yorker’s Greatest Women Cartoonists and Their Cartoons (Prometheus, 2005), and for the past decade I’ve been working on Mad At Something, a biography of New Yorker cartoonist, Peter Arno). We’ve been aware for quite some time that we were only the second pair of married New Yorker cartoonists. Alan Dunn and Mary Petty, whose work dates back to the very beginning of The New Yorker, were the first. Feeling a bit short-changed that there was nothing written by them about their marriage, Liza and I tossed around the idea of doing something for the record about this partnership of ours.

At some point last year, when Liza had just finished her book, Sex & Sensibility: Ten Women Examine the Lunacy of Modern Love…in 200 Cartoons (Twelve, 2008) and I had just sent off the Peter Arno manuscript to my agent, it seemed like the perfect time to see if we could do something with this wacky cartoon life we’ve fallen into…and so, Cartoon Marriage was born.

Cartoon Marriage Media and more:

Summer 2010: Cartoon Marriage selected as a semi-finalist for the Thurber Prize.

October 18, 2009, Audio interview on Blog Talk Radio, I Just Finished’s “Coffee with an Author” with host, Naomi Giroux: www.blogtalkradio.com/I-just-finished/2009/10/19/Liza-Donnelly-on-coff-with-an-Author

May 17, 2009, Times Union, “New Yorker cartoonists’ new book illustrates love, marriage”: www.timesunion.com/AspStories/story.asp

May 4 – 8, 2009, “Featured Authors” on the I Just FinishedThe Conversation of Books site ( a week’s worth of Q & A ): www.ijustfinished.com/

March / April 2009, Inside Out Magazine, article, “Funny Family: New Yorker cartoonists draw remembrances of chaos past”. ( archive link yet to come).

March 16, 2009, Daisy’s Book Journal, review, “Cartoon Marriage by Liza Donnelly and Michael Maslin”: lazydaisy0413.blogspot.com/2009/03/cartoon-marriage-by-liza-donnelly-and.html

March 10, 2009, a segment filmed February 24 will be broadcast on the Meredith media corporation’s television stations ( Las Vegas, Atlanta, Greenville, S.C./Ashville, N.C., Kansas City,Mo., Portland, OR., Nashville, Hartford, Springfild/Holyoke, Ma., Phoenix, and Flint – Saginaw, MI.

Link to segment on Better.tv’s site: www.better.tv/bettertv/;jsessionid=GBTQWCNDAAXSDQFIBQ4R5VQ

March 5, 2009: Radio interview. Wisconsin Public Radio, “Conversations with Kathleen Dunne”, 11:00 am – !2 noon. ( archive link still to come).

Spring 2009, Aboutown, article: “Cartoony Anniversary” by Christina Kominski. ( archive link still to come).

February 21, 2009, Book signing: Merritt Books, Millbrook, NY @ 11:00 am. Merritt’s website info: www.merrittbooks.com/

February 17, 2009, The Times Union blog, , “Cartoonists Trigger Trip to Rhinebeck”: blogs.timesunion.com/pilotgirl/

February 15, 2009, CBS Sunday Morning, “Drawn Together”, a look at Donnelly & Maslin’s cartoon marriage. CBS Sunday Morning website, :www.cbsnews.com/stories/1998/07/09/sunday/main13562.shtml The segment, via Youtube, can be seen at Liza’s site: lizadonnelly.com/

February, 2009, Review: Curled Up With A Good Book, “Graphic memoir book review”: www.curledup.com/toonmarr.htm

February 14, 2009, Book signing @ 4:00 pm, Oblong Books, Rhinebeck, NY Oblong’s website info: www.oblongbooks.com/NASApp/store/IndexJsp

February 13, 2009, Online exclusive excerpt / slide show: The Daily Beast: www.thedailybeast.com/newsmaker/book-beast

February 13, 2009, Radio Interview, WAMC Northeast Public Radio, “The Roundtable” with Joe Donahue. (Live) @10:00 am. WAMC’s archive:www.publicbroadcasting.net/wamc/news.newsmain

February 12, 2009, Review: The Washington Post, “Book of Cartoons Saves the Last Laughs for Home”: www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/02/11/AR2009021101062.html

February 12, 2009, Noted as a “Daily find”: Cookie magazine, “Valentine’s week: cartoon marriage, adventures in love and matrimony” www.cookiemag.com/magazine/blogs/dailyfind/

February 11, 2009, Article: Poughkeepsie Journal, “Cartooning Couple to Speak in Rhinebeck”:www.poughkeepsiejournal.com/article/20090211/LIFE/902110304/1005/life&referrer=NEWSFRONTCAROUSEL

February 6, 2009, Photo Essay: Wowowow.com:www.wowowow.com/photo-essay/cartoon-marriage-liza-donelly-michael-maslin-195584

January 26, 2009, Review: Comic Mix :www.comicmix.com/news/2009/01/26/review-cartoon-marriage-by-liza-donnelly-and-michael-maslin/

January 21, 2009, Review: Sandbox World: sandboxworld.com/cartoon-marriage/